JIMI

18740689_1907664016182288_506159079974597189_n

JIMI
It’s no secret that Jimi is a huge influence on my playing. I used to carry his picture in my wallet, the one where’s he’s playing slide with a can of Bud.

When i lived in Denver in 1978 i had a 2 bedroom apartment on 14th St. on Capitol Hill with one room as a music room with a bunch of guitars and amps. Main guitar Ibanez Strat, main amp a blue face Twin. Put a Big Muff and a Cry Baby in the line to get my Jimi sound.

I went to a professional hypnotist to learn self hypnosis. He was an honest guy. I had signed on for a four session course; after the third session he said i had it and didn’t need to come back. I used to give myself the suggestion that i would be able to play like Jimi. Maybe i channeled him cause i could feel it. Love you man. Used to feel he was one of my spirit guides. Him, Sam Lewis and some others.

So at a garage sale yesterday i bought Cds of Jimi i didn’t even know existed, double CD sets live at Woodstock and Fillmore East. A totally different sound from the studio albums. On the Fillmore East especially, much more traditional guitar, which i am enjoying very much. More of his R+B and blues roots, maybe because he’s playing with Billy Cox and Buddy Miles. Humanizes him, makes the guitar more approachable (and easier to play along with). His playing sounds a lot blacker, a lot more groove, on these albums which, since i love blues and soul, is a good thing. Listening to this i wish i could hear him play with Alphonse Mouzon, who was an excellent jazz rock fusion drummer of the period. Stanley Clarke on bass?

I would love to have my own Band of Gypsies, a bass player and drummer who can flow with anything. Have the name, INFINITE PRESENT, now i need the other musicians, maybe one man, one woman, who both can sing some, also sing some chorus parts. I would be the lead singer but I’ve always liked to play with other people who wrote and sang about every third song and i support them to sound their best as they support me.

May 14
THIRD STONE FROM THE SUN

Was playing 3rd Stone tonight in my room, brought back some good memories.

Back in the early 2000s during one of my frequent “in between” periods i spent a few months in Daly City on the couch at my friend Eric’s.

I used to play on the street in North Beach Friday and Saturday nights, electric guitar and amp, loud, on Broadway halfway down the block from Columbus. Wouldn’t even start til 9 or 9:30, wouldn’t get home til 4 or 4:30.

Played a lot of rock type stuff. Got great response from everyone. Decked out younger black dudes with their women going to dance clubs used to throw me 20s. Seemed like whenever i played a Stones song there’d be 10 or 20 cops hanging out down the way. They used to pass me and whisper “rock on, dude”. Good times.

At the end of the night, around 2:15, i used to kick into 3rd Stone from the Sun, the notes echoing off the buildings across the street, jamming it out long and slow, improvising, letting it own the street.
There’s a certain sound notes get bouncing off concrete in the open air, especially at 2:30 in the morning.
Magical.

 

May 31
BUSKING JIMI—-Hear my train a coming
Went out to my spot tonight with electric guitar and looper. Beautiful night. I loved playing and quite honestly was great, people dug it, said so and tipped. Went heavy on Jimi songs, they were in my head. Came home and put his CD on. I hear my train a coming.

 

 

 

 

 

